In The Pleasure Groove – John Taylor

Celebrity Memoir Week!!!

Oh Yeah!!  THAT John Taylor!  In the Pleasure Groove transported me right back to high school and all those Tiger Beat pictures plastered all over the walls.   For all of my teen fandom for Duran Duran, I knew very little about the start of the band and how very young they were and how quickly they rode to the top.  Really! Nick Rhodes, who founded the band, was also the youngest member — only fifteen when they began.  While Taylor tells about stardom warts and all, you can see that he appreciates both his band members and the large dose of luck that propelled Duran Duran to the height of popularity in the 1980’s.  Some of my favorite chapters discuss the making of some of their more noteworthy videos and the historical significance of videos at the time.  My biggest takeaway?  Taylor’s book gave me a much deeper appreciation for Simon LeBon: his writing, sense of humor and leadership of the band.

Tip:  Check this book out from the library or purchase a copy. You are going to want to see the exclusive photos in this book in all their glossy glory.